White House Taps 2 for Postal Board

The mailing community expressed relief as the White House moved to restock the U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors with two nominations this month.

Mickey D. Barnett, a managing partner at Barnett Law Firm, Albuquerque, NM, was nominated for a term expiring Dec. 8, 2013. He would replace Robert Rider, who retired in December. Barnett is best known as a lobbyist and GOP power broker. From 1972 to 1976, he worked as a legislative assistant for Sen. Pete Domenici, R-NM.

Katherine C. Tobin of Hartsdale, NY, was nominated for a term expiring Dec. 8, 2012, replacing David Fineman, who retired in December 2004. She has more than 15 years of market research experience working for Hewlett-Packard Co.; Catalyst, a nonprofit research and advisory organization dedicated to women's advancement in business; and as a consultant to IBM Corp.

The board has nine governors appointed by the president with Senate consent, plus the postmaster general and deputy PMG. No more than five of the nine governors may be members of the same party.

“We are pleased that the board will be operating with a full complement once again, because the board will very shortly consider another rate case that will be more complex,” said Bob McLean, executive director of the Mailers Council. “It's good to have as many governors as possible reviewing the case before it is sent to the [Postal Rate Commission].”

Under postal law, six board members constitute the quorum needed to do business, but the board needs four appointed governors to vote on rate or classification adjustments, adjustments to the PRC budget and elections for board chairman and vice chairman. The PMG and deputy PMG count for purposes of a quorum but can't vote on these issues.

Pending confirmation of Barnett and Tobin, the board would have nine members.

In January, James C. Miller III was re-elected board chairman and Alan C. Kessler vice chairman. The board also welcomed new member John S. Gardner, a recess appointment made Jan. 6 by President Bush. Besides PMG John E. Potter and deputy PMG Patrick Donahoe, other board members include Carolyn Lewis Gallagher and Louis J. Giuliano.

Melissa Campanelli covers postal news, CRM and database marketing for DM News and DMNews.com. To keep up with the latest developments in these areas, subscribe to our daily and weekly e-mail newsletters by visiting www.dmnews.com/newsletters

Related Posts