Obama nominates new FTC chair

President Barack Obama has nominated Federal Trade Commission member Jon Leibowitz as the agency’s chairperson.

Leibowitz, a lawyer, joined the commission in September 2004, and previously was VP of Congressional Affairs for the Motion Picture Association of America.

Leibowitz is currently the only Democratic commissioner on the FTC. He also has served as staff director for the US Senate Antitrust Subcommittee from 1997 to 2000, and as chief counsel and staff director for the Senate Subcommittee on Terrorism and Technology from 1995 to 1996, according to the White House.
Related Posts