Edelston, Litle, Spiegel Inducted Into Hall of Fame

Edelston, Litle, Spiegel Join Hall of Fame

ATLANTA — Three new members were formally inducted into the Direct Marketing Association’s Hall of Fame yesterday.

This year’s honorees are Martin Edelston of Boardroom Inc.; Tim Litle, principal of Litle & Co.; and Ted Spiegel, who helped build Spiegel’s reputation as one of America’s top catalog marketers.

After the ceremony, Marcus Buckingham, author and management expert, gave his perspective on managing and leadership. Buckingham, author of “First Break All the Rules: What the World’s Greatest Managers Do Differently,” said great managers know “what motivates a person and capitalizes on it.” Great leaders “find what is universal and capitalize on it.”

Buckingham also said that to be a great leader, you always need to focus on these core questions about your company: Whom do we serve? What is our core strength? What actions can we take today?

The DMA also released its 2005 Response Rate Report yesterday, which found that telephone marketing received the highest ROI index (18.2) for marketers driving direct-order purchases. It was followed by e-mail (16), dimensional mail (15.3) and direct mail (14.9).

Also yesterday, the DMA named the members of its Committee on Social Responsibility. Chaired by Jennifer Barrett of Acxiom Corp., other members are: Austin C. Bliss, FreshAddress Inc.; Carolyn Beem, L.L. Bean; Meta Brophy, Consumers Union; Jeanette Cassano, American List Counsel Inc.; Chet Dalzell, Harte-Hanks Inc.; Joseph Eustermann, Experian Interactive; Billie Flaherty, Pitney Bowes Inc.; Richard Goldsmith, The Horah Group; Liz Kislik, Liz Kislik Associates; Connie LaMotta, LaMotta Strategic Communications; Robert McDonald, Cosmetique Inc.; Catherine McIntyre, ICOM Information & Communications; Don McKenzie, Petsky Prunier LLC; Gerry Pike, DMSA Inc.; Eugene R. Raitt, AIG Companies Worldwide; Eliot D. Russman, Magneto Marketing Group LLC; and Suzanne Swenson-Ridenour, Ridenour & Associates.

Related Posts