DMA Directo Council Names Lipton Professional of the Year

Shelly Lipton will receive the Excellence in Hispanic Marketing Professional of the Year award, the Direct Marketing Association's Directo: Council for Hispanic Marketing said yesterday.

Lipton, president and chief operating officer of Bienestar LCG Communications, will be honored during the council's ninth annual Directo Hispanic Marketing Days Conference March 7-8 at the Alexander Hotel in Miami.

A 23-year veteran of the direct marketing industry, Lipton founded LCG Latino in 1989 to develop integrated direct marketing and communications programs aimed at the U.S. Hispanic market. Under his leadership, the company developed and launched Club Música Latina for Columbia House and the first Hispanic relationship marketing program for Pfizer. He also created a Latin American business-to-business direct marketing program for BellSouth and established a Hispanic fundraising program for the American Red Cross.

“The DMA Directo Council recognizes Shelly for his outstanding contributions and long-standing commitment to the advancement of the Hispanic marketplace and the direct marketing industry,” said Maurice Herrera, vice president of sales at Hugo Dunhill Mailing Lists Inc. and chair of The DMA Directo: Council for Hispanic Marketing.

Lipton also served as past vice president of Ad*Net. He was awarded the American Advertising Federation Crystal Prism Award in 1990 for his contribution to public service advertising. Under his leadership, Bienestar LCG received first place in the “Recognizing Excellence Awards” in 2000 for its Pfizer direct-to-consumer relationship marketing program.

The DMA Directo Council award honors an individual with at least 10 years of direct marketing experience who has contributed to the culture, community and identity of Hispanics in the United States as well as the industry and/or marketplace with breakthrough creativity and/or professional achievement.

The council also will present Verizon with its “Excellence in Hispanic Direct Marketing Company of the Year” award.

Related Posts