Craver to Receive DMA's 2002 Nonprofit Achievement Award

The Direct Marketing Association's Nonprofit Federation is expected to present Roger Craver with the 2002 Nonprofit Achievement Award today at its 12th Annual Nonprofit Conference in Washington, D.C.

Craver founded Craver, Matthews, Smith & Company in 1975 as a fundraising and membership development firm for nonprofit organizations. CMS, Arlington, VA, specializes in direct mail, telemarketing, direct response television and Internet fundraising.

CMS clients include Amnesty International USA, the American Civil Liberties Union, Heifer International, Habitat for Humanity, the Humane Society of the United States and the Christopher Reeve Paralysis Foundation.

In 1980, Craver also formed Public Interest Communications, a telemarketing organization dedicated to advocacy fundraising and membership development. He was involved in the formation of organizations such as the American Political Network, Common Cause, Handgun Control, the National Abortion Rights Action League and the National Organization for Women.

According to the DMA Nonprofit Federation, the winner of the Nonprofit Achievement Award must meet these criteria:

• Long tenure as a professional in direct response fundraising.

• Generally respected authority in his/her area.

• Responsible for innovations in techniques and/or philosophy.

• Demonstrated contribution to the base of knowledge about direct response fundraising.

• Model of integrity in professional dealings.

• Willing contributor to the professional development of others through the sharing of knowledge and experience.

Prior to 2001, this award was known as the Fundraising Achievement Award. Last year, it was renamed the Nonprofit Achievement Award and awarded to William Begley, former vice president for development of the Christian Appalachian Project. Previous winners include Claude Grizzard Sr., Andy Andrews, Don Kuhn, John Groman, Carol Enters, Russ Reid, Jerry Huntsinger, Kay Lautman and Max Hart.

Related Posts