AARP goes global with DaneAge Association network

The Copenhagen, Denmark-based DaneAge Association, a membership organization serving older adults, has joined the AARP Global Network as a charter member.

A U.S.-based membership organization for people aged 50 and over, the AARP Global Network aims to harness the collective power of national organizations serving mature populations around the world and supports them in bringing about positive social change for their respective constituencies.

DaneAge Association is a national membership organization representing Denmark’s aging population. Through advocacy work and member support, DaneAge promotes an individual’s rights, irrespective of age, to self-determination, social inclusion and an active, meaningful life.

Founded in 1986, DaneAge has nearly 500,000 members. One out of four Danes aged 50 or older is a member of the association.

AARP has 38 million members globally. Its Global Network can be found online at

The Global Network provides solutions, resources and expertise to national organizations representing the interests of mature populations. These include membership recruitment, retention and engagement; marketing techniques and strategies; product and services development; media content and information development; and advocacy.

Through the Global Network, individual members gain entry into a global community of mature citizens with expanded benefits and privileges such as special services, discounts and the ability to directly communicate and share experiences with peers around the world.

Reciprocity of benefits to members of AARP Global Network organizations will begin in January 2008.

The AARP Global Network will continue to expand opportunities that bring value to mature markets by bringing on additional members and sponsors from across the globe.

Currently, the Global Network is pursuing organizations that have an existing infrastructure primed for serving the aging population in their respective markets, especially organizations in Australia, Canada, Germany, Italy, Britain, Japan, Mexico and the Netherlands.

Related Posts