SC Allows Out-of-State DTC Wine Shipments

Share this article:
Gov. Mark Sanford of South Carolina signed legislation into law yesterday allowing direct-to-consumer shipments of wine by out-of-state wineries.


Under the new law, a winery that obtains an out-of-state shipper's license may ship up to 24 bottles of wine monthly directly to a resident of South Carolina who is at least 21 years old for the resident's personal use and not for resale.


Wineries must obtain the permit, pay a fee of $400 every two years, ensure that shipping containers are marked "Contains Alcohol; Signature of Person Age 21 or Older Required for Delivery," and report and pay taxes annually on all shipments into the state.


Wineries will have to wait until the South Carolina Department of Revenue develops the necessary application and reporting forms before they can start shipping.


This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form without prior authorization. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of Haymarket Media's Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions