USPS Board of Governors elects new chair

Share this content:
USPS pushes back Intelligent Mail barcode implementation
USPS pushes back Intelligent Mail barcode implementation

The US Postal Service's Board of Governors elected Alan C. Kessler as its new chairman, replacing James C. Miller III, and Carolyn Lewis Gallagher as its new vice chairman at a meeting earlier today.

President Clinton first appointed Kessler to the nine-member Board of Governors in 2000. Since 2005, he has served as vice chairman of the board. His current term expires in December 2008.

Kessler is also a partner at the Philadelphia-based law firm Wolf, Block, Schorr and Solis-Cohen LLP. According to the firm's Web site, his background is in class action litigation, with experience in "securities, antitrust and toxic tort cases." He is a graduate of the University of Delaware and the University of Maryland School of Law.

His public service has included work on a number of commissions, boards and authorities at all levels of government. From 1994 through 1998, he was a presidential appointee as the vice chair of the Presidential/Congressional Commission on Risk Assessment and Risk Management.

A native of Austin, TX, Gallagher was first appointed to the Board of Governors in 2004 by President Bush. Her term on the board ends in December 2009.

Gallagher is the former president and CEO of Texwood Furniture, an educational furniture manufacturer in Taylor, TX. She owned the company from 1988 until 2000, before selling it to Sagus International, which is based in Oakbrook, IL. In 2003, President Bush appointed Gallagher to serve on the President's Commission on the United States Postal Service, where she worked on a report called "Embracing The Future." She is a graduate of Duke University and Harvard Business School.


You have until Wednesday, December 7 to get your entries in. Learn more here.

Loading links....

Latest Jobs: