French Post Official Elected UPU Chief

Share this content:
Edouard Dayan, director of European and international affairs for France's La Poste, was elected director general of the Universal Postal Union yesterday by the postal representatives of member countries attending the Universal Postal Congress in Bucharest, Romania.

He received 102 votes against 63 for Carlos Silva, who is inspector-general of posts and telecommunications with the Portuguese postal service and outgoing chairman of the UPU Postal Operations Council.

Dayan succeeds Thomas E. Leavey of the United States, who completes a second five-year term as head of the United Nations agency at the end of this year. The official handover occurs Jan. 1.

Huang Guozhong, assistant postmaster general of the Chinese Post and outgoing chairman of the UPU Council of Administration, was elected deputy director general. As the only candidate for the position, he was elected by acclamation. He takes over from Moussibahou Mazou of the Republic of the Congo, who also is nearing the end of a second five-year mandate and is due to retire after 42 years with the UPU.

Dayan and Guozhong will serve four-year terms.

A Congress proposal adopted Sept. 16 reduced the period between each Universal Postal Congress, and the term of office of the director general and deputy director general, from five years to four. Both men can seek a second term by standing for election at the next Congress in 2008.


You have until Wednesday, December 7 to get your entries in. Learn more here.

Loading links....

Next Article in Postal

Latest Jobs: